South Dakota Change Network announces 17 changemakers selected to newest cohort

By NAS    Sep 20, 2019

Brookings, SD – SDSU Extension is pleased to announce the 17 South Dakotans selected to the third cohort of the South Dakota Change Network. From championing diversity and inclusion on boards, city councils and committees in Aberdeen to integrating new summer resident workers into the community of Wall, the members of South Dakota Change Network are committed to driving positive community change where they live and work.

South Dakota Change Network, alongside North Dakota Change Network, provides residents of the two states and the region’s 12 Native nations with a supportive learning environment to lead change within their organizations and communities in more equitable and inclusive manners. The two cohorts will spend the next year working one-on-one with mentors and jointly with each other in online learning sessions and at three in-person convenings.

“We are excited to add 17 new leaders as changemakers in South Dakota,” remarked Kari O’Neill, Community Vitality Field Specialist with SDSU Extension. “One of Change Network’s greatest strengths is the using the cohort model to really engage participants across a multitude of different backgrounds and perspectives.  They really enter this program with an open mind.”

Begun in 2017, South Dakota Change Network is made possible through the collaboration of 3E ProductionsBush FoundationCommonSense Consulting@WorkMillerHale AssociatesNAS and SDSU Extension. Participation in South Dakota Change Network is generously funded by the Bush Foundation and includes the opportunity to apply for a small grant to assist a project which impacts the individual’s organization in positive and significant ways.

South Dakota Change Network Participants:

Golnesa Asheghali | Rapid City
Susan Bill | Sioux Falls
Angie Cleberg | Aberdeen
Scott DesLauriers | Pierre
Susan Heggestad | Vermillion
Anita Hicks | Martin
Brittany Ho | Flandreau
Charmaine Houck | Brookings
Rochelle Ironcrow | Kyle
Judy Larson | Lemmon
Dawnee LeBeau | Eagle Butte
Ayesha Meer | Spearfish
Casualene Meyer | Madison
Angie Preszler | Hosmer
Elizabeth Skarin | Sioux Falls
Liliya Stone | Wall
Lou Vogt | Sioux Falls