NAS Welcomes New Creative Community Fellows Cohort

By NAS     Sep 9, 2019

Alexandria, VA – NAS proudly introduces the 25 talented change makers of Creative Community Fellows’ fifth cohort. From exploring culture, heritage and identity through the lens of Arab and Arab American artists in Minnesota, to an arts program providing transitional employment opportunities for women experiencing homelessness in Arkansas, to increasing civic engagement in young people by enrolling them as socially-engaged artists in Australia, the leaders selected to this cohort possess inspiring visions to create stronger and more inclusive communities through arts and culture.

Over the next six months, this international cohort of Fellows will work with NAS, faculty partners, mentors and each other to test, adapt and build on their work. Together, they will embrace their authentic leadership capacities, examine their projects’ partnerships and strategies and deepen their connections to their communities while creating a vibrant, international network enriched by their unique experiences and expertise.

“The community of practice a cohort builds in Creative Community Fellows is one of the program’s lasting strengths,” said program director Sunny Widmann. “Each Fellow’s unique perspectives will contribute to transformational learning experiences throughout the program, shaping and elevating their capacities to drive change.”

Introduced in 2014, Creative Community Fellows is generously funded by The Kresge Foundation, with backing for regional participants by the Australia Council for the Arts, the Bush Foundation and the Robert W. Deutsch Foundation. This year’s Fellows join a network of nearly 200 leaders working to drive positive change in our world.

The following Fellows were selected for the crucial work they are doing in their communities and NAS is excited to welcome them:

2019 Creative Community Fellows

Nik Aberle | Rapid City, SD
Jessica Ackerman | Minot, ND
Emilie Amrein | San Marcos, CA
Cristina Benz | Saint Paul, MN
Taykhoom Biviji | Chicago, IL
Crystal Brinkman | Minneapolis, MN
Fay Darmawi | San Francisco, CA
Adam DesJardins | Detroit, MI
Stephanie Echeveste | New York, NY
Armando Franco | Gilroy, CA
Brion Gill | Baltimore, MD
Hannah Grant | Erskineville, Australia
Chavon Henderson | Baltimore, MD
Heidi Jeub | Little Falls, MN
Hamzat Koriko | Grand Forks, ND
Sharon Mansur | Winona, MN
Debby Maziarz | Melbourne, Australia
Vincent Mraz | New York, NY
Brittany Rhodes | Detroit, MI
Julia Ryan | Boston, MA
Alisha Shilling | Kalispell, MT
Sarah Smith Warren | New Rockford, ND
Ryan Stopera | Minneapolis, MN
Ayana Williams | Memphis, TN
Jacqueline Wolven | Eureka Springs, AR